I am sharing my stupidity with you in this story in the hopes that it won’t happen to any of you.
I placed an ad with yellow pages last summer and it included a web ad thru yellowpages.com. A month later I got a bill and promptly paid it. It had the same logo as yellow pages so I figured it was the same, never thought to look it over more carefully. (now I find out ALL the phone books have the same walking fingers logo) The amount never showed up on my yellow pages account and they kept billing me. I finally had time the other day and looked over the paper work and realized that the bill I paid was from yellowpagesUSA.com and it was a scam. They somehow found out that I had a new add and sent me a bill hoping I would pay it (which I did) for an ad on their website which is actually for an old business. I called and talked to the owner who pretty much said, “I sent you a solicitation and you paid it and the money is mine now”. So, I was taken for a lot of money and there is nothing I can do about it besides write it off and spread the word to all of you.
PLEASE pay attention to any bills that you get and compare the account numbers to your original account. I know this seems like common sense but these scam artists really make everything look exactly like the real company.
Laury Kossoff
A private blog for the Noah's Ark Workshop cruising to success yahoo group.
Tuesday, January 8, 2008
Beware of mail...
I'm posting an email I got from Laury - I get similar postal mail from internet companies that make it look like I committed to advertising on their websites etc - but if you look closely all the paperwork, though it looks like a real invoice - it does say somewhere "this is not a bill". Be careful!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment